The Seeker of Peace


The Beliefs Behind Goals
November 7, 2008, 4:22 pm
Filed under: Non-duality, World | Tags: , , , , ,

I wrote yesterday about how each goal represented a belief that achieving something would make life better. While I had previously thought it best to stop working with goals, I thought I should reconsider. I still felt dissatisfied at the conclusion, since the Sedona Method goals process has made only limited progress for me.

Today, I had an epiphany: what’s important is the belief, not the goal. The goal is a manifestation of a judgment, not the basis for the judgment. My health goal is “I allow myself to have optimal health and abundant energy.” I haven’t been able to become “hootless” (Sedona terminology for emotionally free) about that. But that’s because I have an underlying belief that says, “My life would be better if I were healthy.”

One of the questions of Byron Katie’s The Work is “How do you react when you believe that thought?” I spent a little time, probably just an hour, answering that question about my health belief. All sorts of thoughts came up. I dealt with each one Sedona Method-style by tying it to an underlying want and releasing it.

What a dramatic effect! I’m still not hootless, but that hour spent on the belief has done more for me than the past twenty hours spent on the goal. I think that, for me, working on the goal is simply too prone to my ego playing tricks: my ego keeps reinforcing that, yes, I want the goal. Working on the underlying belief is much clearer: there’s no way for my ego to pretend that I’m not making a destructive judgment.

Ironically, the thoughts that arise when working on the belief are mostly the same ones that arise when doing the goals process, just worded slightly differently. I know the goals process works well for many people, so it must just be a particular twist of my ego that I have so much trouble with it.

I guess that’s the reason that there’s such a proliferation of non-dualistic approaches: everyone’s ego has its own unique strengths at twisting truth. Sometimes we need just the right approach to get around our ego’s defenses.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi, Jim

That’s a really cool gain! I could look at my own beliefs and how I was cherished them too. Gave me a good insight!

Mário

Comment by Mário

Hi, Jim

I often have the same experience as you mentioned regarding the goal exercise of the Sedona Method; I can neither attain my goal nor be hootless about it. So, I am interested in your story. I would appreciate it if you elaborate on how you combined the Work of Byron Katie and the Sedona Method.

Regarding your health issue, have you read the Presence Process by Michael Brown? This book may be helpful.

Yoichi

Comment by Yoichi

Yoichi –

When I do the third question of the Work (“How do you react when you believe that thought?”), I have a flood of thoughts and feelings come up. What I do is take each one, identify the underlying want (approval, control, security, etc.), and let it go. I can spend a long time (hours) on the third question.

On the other hand, I save a lot of time on the fourth question (“Who would you be without the thought?”) By the time I’ve released everything that comes up on the third question, I already know the answer!

Thanks for the book suggestion – I’ll definitely check it out.

– Jim

Comment by The Seeker of Peace

Thank you, Jim.

I will try your way.

Yoichi

Comment by Yoichi




Leave a Reply

