The Seeker of Peace


The Dilemma of Goals
October 17, 2008, 7:47 am
Filed under: God, World | Tags: , , , , , ,

I look for wisdom from an eclectic variety of sources. Usually, the non-dualistic ones are compatible in their teachings. Lately, I’ve been struggling with a case where two of my favorite sources go in very different directions.

The Sedona Method has specific techniques for working on goals. Most of the examples from the course are worldly goals, such as getting money, losing weight, etc. Hale Dwoskin even promotes his role in The Secret. The idea is that once you let go of your emotions involving a goal, it will just manifest in your lap.

By contrast, A Course in Miracles has as one of its early workbook lessons the idea that “I do not perceive my own best interests.” That makes a lot of sense – if my ego is the source of my unhappiness, as the Sedona Method teaches, why should I trust it to set goals for me? If my ego tells me I want a new Ferrari, why should I believe it?

Indeed, the goal technique of the Sedona Method, like The Secret and The Law of Attraction, seems to feed the ego by giving it what it thinks it wants. At least the Sedona approach has you work on your ego’s attachment to the goal first, but it’s still putting the ego in the driver’s seat.

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that I’ve never successfully manifested anything. (If you have, I’d love for you to post a comment!) I’ve succeeded in accomplishing goals, but it was through work and effort, not by having something drop into my lap. Perhaps I’m simply justifying my failure by rationalizing that I’m better off not manifesting anything.

However, I don’t think that’s the case. As I mentioned a few days ago in my post about Job, unexpected things can help along the spiritual path. Assuming that manifestation works, isn’t that just another egocentric way to avoid our lessons?

Nouk Sanchez and Tomas Vieira, in Take Me to Truth: Undoing the Ego, present the idea that as you undo your ego, your wants and needs come into alignment. In this context, your “wants” are exactly what they sound like, while your “needs” are whatever you need to get closer to God. And, the great thing about this alignment is that it you then get what you want with no effort.

So far, the goals I’ve achieved in life have been a mixed bag in terms of bringing me happiness. For now, I’m going to stick to spiritual goals only. I figure there are a few goals, like better perceiving the voice of God, that don’t risk feeding my ego further.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

